Discuss as:

Inside the Financial Fiasco continues March 27 and 29

Dateline's investigation into the U.S. economic troubles continues next weekend. Here's what's coming up:

Friday, March 27: Debt Trap
As the mortgage crisis and mounting job losses melt away the American dream, another fundamental economic crisis has emerged: America's debt epidemic. NBC's Chris Hansen investigates how families got mired in debt and, with hidden cameras, exposes dirty tactics used by some collection agencies. Airs at 10 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CT.

Sunday, March 29:  Promises, Promises
With the economy in freefall and unemployment reaching record highs, Hansen investigates two schemes that sound too good to be true. One involves scams targeting people desperately searching for jobs, and the other, a self-professed visionary who claims he can increase gas mileage by 50 percent. Airs at 7 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. CT.

Make sure to check dateline.msnbc.com after the program airs for web-exclusive videos and content and helpful links if you've been the victim of a  scam or are struggling with debt.